**INTERNATIONAL UNION OF** rystallography

www.iucr.org

**NEWSLETTER** Volume 21, Number 4 ♦ 2013

✓ IUCr-UNESCO OpenLab **Regional Summit Meetings** Crystal-growing competition for schools Timelines of crystallography Photo Competition Gallery of artificially grown crystals New publications Videos and educational material ✓ Schools, workshops, seminars and exhibitions worldwide

> opening ceremony unesco paris 20-21 january 2014 see the programme insid



international year of crystallography





al, Scientific and ral Organization

ers for the International Year of Crystallography 2014

## **CRYSTALLOGRAPHIC MEETING REPORTS**



Tom Terwilliger

tend the reach of molecular replacement by using complementary information from the structure-modeling field and by using the local similarities of the search model to the structure to be determined. He presented a method he called, *"morphing"*, in which a starting model is distorted (morphed) to improve its match to an electron density map. He showed that a rather poor electron density map can be used to morph a model with amazing accuracy, and to allow structures more distant from the target structure to be solved by molecular replacement.

Connie Rajnak

The 2014 meeting will be held May 24-28 in Albuquerque, NM. Details are available at www.amercrystalassn.org.◆



## **Frolic Goats High-Pressure Diffraction**

Poznań, Poland, April, 2013

by Andrzej Katrusiak

The 6th Frolic Goats High-Pressure Diffraction Workshop (FgHp-6), held at the Adam Mickiewicz U. in Poznań, April 14-16, 2013, welcomed 45 participants, representing 7 countries. The workshop is traditionally dedicated to the introduction to highpressure research. The lectures included the subjects on "Strain in materials (A. Katrusiak); High pressure experiments and data reduction with CrysAlisPro" (M. Meyer); "Single crystal diffraction at the ID09A beamline of the ESRF" (M. Hanfland); "Pressure-induced conformational phase transition in 4,4'-bipyridine hydro-bromide monohydrate" (M. Anioła); "High-pressure Crystallization of DL-Mandelic Acid" (W. Cai), "Low-temperature and high-pressure behaviour of 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene. Melting point differences in trichlorobenzene isomers" (M. Bujak); "Comparative studies of 2-methyl-4-nitroanilinium hexachlorido-stannate(IV), bromide and two non-centrosymmetric chlorides" (M. Daszkiewicz); "High Pressure Diffraction Study of Toluene Pursued in a Collaborative Project" (K. Dziubek), "HP experiments and data reduction with CrysAlisPro" (M. Meyer). For the first time the

workshop included a poster session, for which CrystEngComm provided two poster prizes, awarded to Kinga Ostrowska for the poster entitled "Menthol-mint racemate" and to Witold Zieliński for his work on "Hydrogen bonds NH…N in compressed benzimidazole polymorphs". The workshop included hands-on laboratory exercises the DAC operation, alignment, loading, diffraction experiments, compressibility measurements in a piston-and-cylinder press and computation and processing of high-pressure data.

The FgHp-6 Workshop was generously sponsored by the Faculty of Chemistry, Agilent Technologies and Bruker Poland, and was organized by the Team supported by the Foundation for Polish Science. On the first day of FgHp-6 the participants made a bicycle trip to the Morasko Meteorite Nature Reserve, where a rain of meteorites fell about 5000 years ago, and had a barbecue. On the next day after sessions, a tour was guided by Andrzej Muszyński through the museum at the Inst. of Geology, where several of the largest meteorites in the Central Europe are exhibited, including the one of 300 kg found in 2012 in the Morsko Reserve. ◆



Participants of the FgHp-6 (left to right): Michał Kaźmierczak, Mohamed Mahgoub, Szymon Sobczak, Kacper Rajewski, Ewa Patyk, Mathias Meyer, Kinga Ostrowska, Magdalena Sikora, Damian Paliwoda, Anna Maria Hernández Martin, Sławomir Domagała, Virginia Amate Padilla, Witold Zieliński, Marcin Stachowicz, Cristina Bosch Orea, Grzegorz Szklarz, Anna Olejniczak, Joanna Bąk, Marek Daszkiewicz, Mina Eshak, Maria Igartua Medina, Andrzej Okuniewski, Joachim Kusz, Michał Andrzejewski, Hanna Tomkowiak, Hanna Piotrowicz, Jędrzej Marciniak, Michael Hanfland, Weizhao Cai, Maciej Bujak, Hesham Alsoghier, Maria Nowak, Akram Behrooz, Marcin Podsiadło, Kamil Dziubek, Andrzej Katrusiak; absent from the photo are: Michalina Anioła, Jolanta Darul, Olga Ermakova, Katarzyna Kowalska, Paulina Pojawis, Małgorzata Ratajczak-Sitarz, Paulina Wawrzyniak, Zofia Dega-Szafran and Mirosław Szafran.